Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Page Title

Databases (Electronic Resources): Finding Peer-Reviewed Articles

To access the Databases from off-campus, you must log into MyMonroe.* If you are unable to see the Library Resources icon, please call IT at 646-393-8290 and request correction of your status from "Member" to "Student."

Start with What Type of Articles

Your assignment is to find an article.
What should you do now...?

First, determine what type of articles and sources are required for your research.

Has your professor specified:

a peer-reviewed article from a scholarly, academic journal?

an article or opinion piece (editorial) from a Newspaper?

Why and How to Search for Peer-Reviewed Articles

Your professor may require that you use peer-reviewed journal articles as sources for your research.

WHY USE PEER-REVIEWED JOURNAL ARTICLES? 

In order to qualify for publication in a journal, academic and scholarly articles must be: 

  • written by experts and then
  • reviewed by a panel of the author's peers (i.e. other experts) ‚Äčin the field before the article is published.

The review process means the article must meet high standards of:

  • Currency,
  • Relevance,
  • Accuracy,
  • Authenticity, and 
  • Purpose.

so these articles generally contain the best (and often the most current) information available on a given subject.  (More information on evaluating the quality of an information source can be found here.)

This process is meant to ensure the integrity of the journal, as well as the quality of the article.

For best results, you should start your search in a database that specializes in academic and scholarly/peer-reviewed articles. See instructions below:

 Three databases that specialize in peer-reviewed articles are:

Academic OneFile (Gale)


Research Library (ProQuest) 

(Check the box marked Peer reviewed.)


Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)


Most databases in the system offer the ability to limit your search results to Academic Journal Articles, which are, by definition, peer-reviewed. Some examples with illustrations of how to limit your results can be seen below. 

In Gale Databases, search limiters appear in the upper-right hand corner of your search-results screen.

 Limit to Peer-Reviewed papers in ProQuest. ProQuest databases allow you to limit your results to peer-reviewed papers before you conduct your initial search.

In Gale Databases, search limiters appear on the left- hand side of your search-results screen.