Page Title
Skip to Main Content Page Title

Welcome to the Monroe College Library

Information on academic support on campus (in-person) and virtually.

What is Google Scholar?

Google Scholar provides a simple way to search for scholarly literature broadly. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts, and court opinions from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other websites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.

Using Google Scholar

What if there are no links to the article?

  • Double-check if Monroe College Library owns the article by searching the library databases. Start with databases: Discovery Service for Monroe or A-Z by publication title.
  • We may not own the article; you may need to search for a similar article. 
  • Email library@monroecollege.edu for help or if you encounter any issues!

Search Tips

  • Like Google, Google Scholar allows searching of metadata terms, but unlike Google, it also indexes full text. 
  • You can use the default search or select “Advanced search” to search by title, author, journal, and date.
  • More advanced researchers can specify phases ("") in quotation marks, enter Boolean ( AND, OR, NOT) queries, or search within fields.

Link Monroe College Library to Google Scholar- OFF CAMPUS

You may view the video tutorial here: 
  1. Go to Google Scholar: https://scholar.google.com/
  2. Click on the three lines, then click on settings. 
  3. Next, Click on the Library links
  4. Then, in the search bar, type Monroe College. 
  5. Then select Monroe College Full Text @ MC Library. 
  6. Then click Save.
  7.  After you click Save, you will be directed back to the main screen of Google Scholar. 
  8. From here, you may start to type in the keywords of the articles you are searching for. If Monroe College Library subscribes to an article you are interested in. You will see the FULL TEXT @ MC Library link on the left of the article.  Click the "FULL TEXT @ MC Library" link to retrieve the article. 

Issues?

If you encounter any issues retrieving an article from Google Scholar, please email library@monroecollege.edu. Please include the citation or additional information about the article you are trying to retrieve. 

  • Last Updated: Jul 17, 2024 3:46 PM
  • URL: https://monroecollege.libguides.com/home
  • Print Page