Nursing and Allied Health Information Resources: Library Books

This guide should be useful to nursing and allied health majors.

Where to Look for Books

Use MoeCat to look up books in the library collections. Books are shelved according to their subject using Library of Congress call numbers. When you find a relevant book in MoeCat, write down the entire call number. Books are shelved in alphanumeric order by call number.

Science books start with the call number Q. Books that have to do with medicine have call numbers starting with R. Within each broad topic, there are subcategories.

(See below).

QM -- Human anatomy

QP -- Physiology

QR -- Microbiology

R -- Medicine (General)

RA -- Public aspects of medicine

RB -- Pathology

RC -- Internal medicine

RD -- Surgery

RE -- Ophthalmology

RF -- Otorhinolaryngology

RG -- Gynecology and obstetrics

RJ -- Pediatrics

RK -- Dentistry

RL -- Dermatology

RM -- Therapeutics. Pharmacology

RS -- Pharmacy and materia medica

RT -- Nursing (including exam review books)

RV -- Botanic, Thomsonian, and eclectic medicine

RX -- Homeopathy

RZ -- Other systems of medicine

Nursing Drug Guides

Mosby's 2021 Nursing Drug Reference by Linda Skidmore-Roth Trusted for over 25 years, this portable, full-color drug reference is easy to navigate and provides safety features that help you practice knowledgeable, safe medication dispensing. Content on more than 5,000 generic and brand-name drugs covers almost every drug you are likely to encounter in clinicals. Side effects information, logically organized by body system and identified as common or life threatening, shows you the important and intricate signs to watch for during assessments. This guide also includes complete pharmacokinetic tables that explain the mechanism and absorption of the drug as well as the action, duration, and excretion of the drug. Whether you're in the classroom or in clinicals, Mosby's 2021 Nursing Drug Reference, 34th Edition is the all-in-one drug reference you need. Content on more than 5,000 generic and brand-name drugs covers almost every drug you will encounter in clinicals. A Safety Alert feature icon highlights the most critical interactions and side effects that you must be aware of during clinicals. A Black Box Warning feature alerts you to FDA warnings of potentially life-threatening reactions. Bold heading and details on IV drug administration so students can easily find appropriate dosage and IV instructions to help them administer these drugs safely. Side effects information is logically organized by body system and identified as common or life threatening, alerting students to the signs to watch for during assessments. Nursing Process Framework organizes all nursing care steps so students learn how to easily and completely incorporate the nursing process into their clinical experiences. Cross-reference headers in the book listings and in the appendicies make it easier to find the drug content quickly and less likely that students will think a drug is missing if it's not first found in the book. Complete pharmacokinetic tables explain the mechanism and absorption of the drug, as well as the action, duration, and excretion of the drug. NEW! Approximately 25 monographs on newly released, FDA-approved drugs give you the intricate details you need both in the classroom and clinicals. Each monograph includes new interactions, precautions, alerts, patient teaching instructions, and other need-to-know information - so you'll feel confident in the accuracy of the information and in preventing medication dispensing errors. NEW! Up-to-date content on drug therapies provides you with instant access to the latest information.
Call Number: RM 301.12 S55 2021 (BX-REF)
ISBN: 9780323757331
Mosby's 2015 Nursing Drug Reference by Linda Skidmore-Roth Find the drug information you need fast! Trusted by nurses for over 25 years, Mosby's 2015 Nursing Drug Reference features a full-color design and convenient A-to-Z organization that offer quick and easy access to the latest and most vital information on the drugs you administer most frequently. More than 5,000 drugs are profiled and updated in drug monograph format - including 20 new drugs recently approved by the FDA. And no other drug handbook places a higher emphasis on patient safety, with Black Box Warnings for dangerous or life-threatening adverse reactions, Safety Alert icons for situations requiring special attention, and highlighted Common and Life-Threatening Side Effects. Comprehensive coverage also includes IV drug dosage and administration instructions, including special considerations and Y-site, syringe, and additive compatibilities. The companion Evolve website offers even more helpful features, such as additional drug monographs (including infrequently used or recently approved drugs); guidelines to safe handling of chemotherapeutic agents; combination products; controlled-substance chart; drug name safety; drugs metabolized by known P450s; drugs to use cautiously for geriatric patients; herbal products; patient teaching guides in English and Spanish; and Canadian resources. More than 5,000 generic and trade-name drugs are profiled, covering almost every drug you will administer in practice or in clinicals. Attractive full-color design highlights important information for quick and easy access. Black Box Warnings provide alerts to dangerous or life-threatening adverse reactions. Safety Alert icon identifies situations that require special attention. Common and life-threatening side effects are organized by body system, showing signs to watch for during assessments. Nursing Process steps are used as the framework for organizing all nursing care information. Coverage of IV drug administration highlights dosage and IV administration instructions, including special considerations and Y-site, syringe, and additive compatibilities. Comprehensive drug monographs include generic names, Rx or OTC availability, pronunciations, U.S. and Canadian trade names, functional and chemical classification, controlled-substance schedule, do-not-confuse drugs, action, uses, unlabeled uses, dosages and routes, available forms, side effects, contraindications, precautions, pharmacokinetics, interactions (including drug/herb, drug/food and drug lab test), nursing considerations, and treatment of overdose. Complete pharmacokinetic information includes the mechanism and absorption of the drug as well as its action, duration, and excretion. Flexible, water-resistant cover provides durability in the clinical setting. A companion website includes updates with infrequently used or recently approved drugs, a full-color pill atlas, guidelines to safe handling of chemotherapeutic agents, combination products, drugs metabolized by known P450s, medications to be cautiously for geriatric patients, herbal products, a listing of high-alert Canadian medications and immunization schedules, patient teaching guides in English and Spanish, and more. 20 NEW monographs provide current content on added or newly released drugs.
Call Number: RM 301.12 .S55 2015 (BX)
ISBN: 9780323278010
Mosby's 2014 Nursing Drug Reference by Linda Skidmore-Roth There is a difference in drug handbooks. From the leading name in nursing, Mosby's 2014 Nursing Drug Reference makes it easy to find the latest and most vital information on the drugs you administer most frequently. More than 5,000 drugs are profiled - including 70 new entries on current drugs and drugs recently approved by the FDA. And no other drug handbook places a higher emphasis on patient safety. With a full-color design and an A to Z organization, this portable reference gives you the most complete information for each drug, including dosing, side effects, interactions, and administration. Updated by nursing pharmacology expert Linda Skidmore-Roth, Mosby's Nursing Drug Reference is a bestseller that has been relied upon by nurses for over 25 years. More than 5,000 generic and trade-name drugs are profiled, covering almost every drug you will administer in practice or in clinicals. Attractive full-color design highlights important information for quick and easy access. Black Box Warnings provide alerts to dangerous or life-threatening adverse reactions. Safety Alert icon identifies situations that require special attention. Common and life-threatening side effects are organized by body system, showing signs to watch for during assessments. Nursing Process steps are used as the framework for organizing all nursing care information. Coverage of IV drug administration highlights dosage and IV administration instructions, including special considerations and Y-site, syringe, and additive compatibilities. Comprehensive drug monographs include generic names, Rx or OTC availability, pronunciations, U.S. and Canadian trade names, functional and chemical classification, controlled-substance schedule, do-not-confuse drugs, action, uses, unlabeled uses, dosages and routes, available forms, side effects, contraindications, precautions, pharmacokinetics, interactions (including drug/herb, drug/food and drug lab test), nursing considerations, and treatment of overdose. Complete pharmacokinetic information includes the mechanism and absorption of the drug as well as its action, duration, and excretion. Flexible, water-resistant cover provides durability in the clinical setting. A companion website includes updates with infrequently used or recently approved drugs, a full-color pill atlas, guidelines to safe handling of chemotherapeutic agents, combination products, drugs metabolized by known P450s, medications to be cautiously for geriatric patients, herbal products, a listing of high-alert Canadian medications and immunization schedules, patient teaching guides in English and Spanish, and more. 70 NEW monographs provide up-to-date content on added or newly released drugs.
Call Number: RM 301.12 .S55 2014 (NR)
ISBN: 9780323170079

Nursing Reference Texts

Merriam-Webster's Medical Dictionary Master today's medical vocabulary and become an informed health-care consumer with this guide to the essential language of medicine and health care. This new edition provides up-to-date coverage of terminology from all major fields of medical practice and research. More than 39,000 medical terms with pronunciations Covers the latest brand names and generic equivalents of common drugs 1,000 new entries include antibiotic lock, chemo brain, diabesity, gastric banding, and sarcopenia and brand names such as Abilify, Chantix, and Enbrel Take charge of today's medical language with Merriam-Webster's Medical Dictionary.
Call Number: R 121 .M565 2016 (BX-REF!)
ISBN: 9780877792949
A Dictionary of Nursing by Market House Books Ltd. Staff; Oxford Staff (Editor); Tanya A. McFerran (Editor) "Fully updated to reflect recent developments in nursing practice and related fields, this best-selling dictionary is an essential guide to the ever-changing vocabulary of the nursing profession. Written by medical and nursing specialists, it is the ideal reference source for all nursing students, practising nurses, and other health-care professionals, including midwives and health visitors." -- Publisher description.
Call Number: R 121 .O86 2014 (BX & NR)
ISBN: 9780199666379
Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary
Call Number: R 121 .D73 2012 (BX-REF!)
ISBN: 9781416062578
Merriam-Webster's Spanish-English Medical Dictionary A convenient guide to today's medical language for anyone who needs to communicate in both English and Spanish. Designed for patients, caregivers, physicians, and medical professionals, this bidirectional dictionary features more than 12,000 medical terms and phrases with clear, concise definitions in both Spanish and English. Entries include part-of-speech, Spanish noun gender, and abbreviations. Detailed anatomical illustrations clarify meanings and provide additional information. Includes tables covering topics such as immunizations, allergens, and types of surgeries. Special sections aid communication between medical professionals and patients in clinical settings and include words and phrases specific to symptoms of diseases, diagnostic tests, medications, a patient's medical history, and medical emergencies. Perfect for use at home, work, school, and in health-care settings.
Call Number: R 121 .M488 2012b (BX-REF!)
ISBN: 9780877798231

Medical Encyclopedias

The Gale encyclopedia of medicine, 4th edition
Call Number: RC 41 .G35 2011eb ... (Click Title for access)
ISBN: 1414403682

Nursing Test: TEAS

ATI TEAS Strategies, Practice and Review with 2 Practice Tests by Kaplan Nursing Exactly what you need to score higher. Comprehensive review for every section. Expert strategies to improve your test score.
Call Number: LB 2353.7.T43 A85 2017 (BX)
ISBN: 9781506211152

Nursing Test: NCLEX

Saunders Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination by Linda Anne Silvestri Often called the ''the best NCLEX® exam review book ever,'' Saunders Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination, 7th Edition provides everything you need to prepare for the NCLEX exam - complete content review and 5,200 NCLEX examination-style questions in the book and online. Don''t make the mistake of assuming the quality of the questions is the same in all NCLEX exam review books, because only this book includes the kind of questions that consistently test the critical thinking skills necessary to pass today''s NCLEX exam. Even better, all answers include detailed rationales to help you learn from your answer choices, as well as test-taking strategies with tips on how to best approach each question. Written by the most trusted name in NCLEX review, Linda Anne Silvestri, and updated to reflect the most current 2016 NCLEX test plan, Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination, 7th Edition is THE book of choice for NCLEX examination review. But don''t just take our word for it - read any customer review or ask your classmates to see why there''s nothing else like it! Over 5,100 practice questions in the text and online offer ample testing practice.  Question categories by cognitive level, client needs area, integrated process, and content area give users completely customizable exams or study sessions when using the companion Evolve site. UNIQUE! A detailed test-taking strategy and rationale is included for each question, offering clues for analyzing and uncovering the correct answer option, and guiding users to remediation in Saunders Strategies for Test Success: Passing Nursing School and the NCLEX® Exam and Saunders Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN® Exam. Inclusion of all alternate item format questions covers multiple response, prioritizing [ordered response], fill-in-the-blank, figure/illustration [hot spot], chart/exhibit, video, and audio questions to give users practice with mastering prioritizing, decision-making, and critical thinking skills. Alternate item format questions are highlighted with a special icon to easily find in the text. 85-question comprehensive exam covers all content areas in the book in the same percentages that they are covered on the actual NCLEX-RN test plan. UNIQUE! Priority Nursing Action boxes list actions for clinical emergent situations requiring immediate action, including a detailed rationale and textbook reference. UNIQUE! Pyramid Alert! boxes spotlight important nursing concepts and procedures, and include tips and shortcuts for remembering key information.  UNIQUE! Priority concepts call-outs highlight specific concepts related to nursing practice. Concepts have been updated to reflect the latest Giddens: Concepts for Nursing Practice text. Page references for each question guide users toward an Elsevier nursing textbook for further study and self-remediation. Full-color designoffers a more visually engaging learning experience. Easy-to-use index lets users quickly locate questions for a given topic or body system. Recent graduate''s perspective sections offer meaningful guidance for the NCLEX-RN, nonacademic preparation, test-taking strategies, and the CAT format. Expanded coverage of delegation, prioritization, and triage/disaster management in the practice questions reflect the areas of increased emphasis on the NCLEX exam. Automatic software updates on the Evolve companion site allow users to check for changes and content updates throughout the life of the edition. UNIQUE! Audio review summaries on pharmacology, fluids and electrolytes, and acid-base balance are found on the Evolve companion site. NEW! Questions and content aligned with the latest NCLEX-RN exam reflect the increased level of difficulty and format changes in some areas.  NEW! Summary of the key changes made to the 2016 NCLEX-RN test plan will be included at the beginning of the text along with how those updates are addressed throughout the new edition. NEW! Mnemonics will be included as Pyramid Alerts where appropriate throughout the text. NEW! More Priority Nursing Action boxes to communicate new and pertinent content.  NEW! Revised illustrations provide a more up-to-date and consistent presentation of art throughout the text.  NEW! Completely updated chapter on vital signs and laboratory values include the latest lab values. NEW! Glossary of the Pyramid Terms located in the back of the book help users access all definitions in one location.
Call Number: RT55.S28 2017 (Both)
ISBN: 9780323358514
NCLEX-PN Premier 2017 with 2 Practice Tests by Kaplan Nursing Staff Always study with the most up-to-date prep! Look for NCLEX-PN Prep Plus 2018, ISBN 9781506233345, on sale February 6, 2018. Publisher's Note: Products purchased from 3rd party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entities included with the product.
Call Number: RT 62 .I79 2017 (BX)
ISBN: 9781506208480
NCLEX-RN Premier 2017 with 2 Practice Tests by Kaplan; Kaplan Nursing (Firm) Staff Always study with the most up-to-date prep! Look for NCLEX-RN Prep Plus 2018, ISBN 9781506233307, on sale February 6, 2018. Publisher's Note: Products purchased from 3rd party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entities included with the product.
Call Number: RT 55 .K3 2017 (NR)
ISBN: 9781506208503
NCLEX-RN Premier 2016-2017 with 2 Practice Tests by Kaplan Nursing Staff ""Score higher with 600+ practice questions, 60 min. of video tutorials, 10 critical thinking paths, 8 practice sets""--Cover Includes index ""Passing the NCLEX-RN exam is not just about what you know--it's about how you think. With expert critical thinking startegies and targeted practice. Kaplan's NCLEX-RN Premier 2016 shows you how to leverage your content knowledge to think like a nurse""--Back cover
Call Number: RT 55 .I793 2016 (BX)
ISBN: 9781506202198
NCLEX-RN Drug Guide: 300 Medications You Need to Know for the Exam by Kaplan Nursing Staff
Call Number: RT 55 .A76 2015 (NR)
ISBN: 9781625231147
Nursing Leadership and Management : Edition 7. 0 by Assessment Technologies Institute
Call Number: RT 89.3 .L433 2016 (BX)
ISBN: 9781565335684
Saunders Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination by Linda Anne Silvestri This title includes additional digital media when purchased in print format. For this digital book edition, media content is not included. There is a reason Saunders Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination has been called "the best NCLEX exam review book ever." You''ll find everything you need to review for the NCLEX exam under one cover - complete content review and over 4,500 NCLEX examination-style questions in the book and on the free companion CD! Don''t make the mistake of assuming the quality of the questions is the same in all NCLEX exam review books, because only Silvestri''s Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination includes the kind of questions that consistently test the critical thinking skills necessary to pass today''s NCLEX exam. And, what''s even better is that ALL answers include detailed rationales to help you learn from your answer choices, as well as test-taking strategies that provide tips for how to best approach each question. It''s easy to see why Silvestri is THE book of choice for NCLEX examination review. But don''t just take our word for it - read any customer review or ask your classmates to see why Silvestri users believe that there''s nothing else like it! Each question includes the correct answer, a complete rationale for all responses, and a test-taking strategy to help you develop techniques for locating the correct response. Each question includes a page reference to an Elsevier textbook to allow for further research and study. All alternate item-format questions are included, with multiple response, prioritizing, fill-in-the-blank, figure/illustration, chart/exhibit, and audio questions to prepare you for the wide variety of question types on the NCLEX-RN examination. Organization by nursing content area provides a logical, effective review to use throughout your nursing program. Pyramid Terms define key terms at the beginning of each major unit or chapter. Pyramid Points within each chapter highlight content that is important in preparing for the NCLEX-RN examination. Pyramid to Success sections provide an overview of major units or chapters and specific content related to the latest NCLEX-RN examination test plan. Pharmacology is emphasized with 13 pharmacology chapters, a medication and intravenous calculation chapter, and a pediatric medication calculation chapter to reflect this priority content on the NCLEX exam. Introductory chapters cover preparation for the NCLEX-RN exam, test-taking strategies, the NCLEX-RN exam from a student''s perspective, and transitional issues for the foreign-educated nurse. A comprehensive exam consists of 265 questions that cover all content areas in the book and mirror the percentages identified in the NCLEX-RN examination test plan. A companion CD allows practice in quiz, study, or exam modes, with questions selected from content area, integrated process, category of client need, or alternate item-format type. Completely updated content is based on the new NCLEX-RN examination test plan, effective April 2010. A total of 4,500 questions ensure that you''re thoroughly prepared for the content covered on the NCLEX-RN Exam. New chapter on physical assessment highlights the key components of physical examination and health history often encountered on the NCLEX exam. Audio and video questions on the companion CD provide experience with these new types of questions before the exam. Unique! Audio review summaries included on the CD cover the three core areas of pharmacology, fluids and electrolytes, and acid-base balance. Expanded coverage of prioritization, delegation, and nursing leadership and management provides critical information for these growing areas of nursing. Unique! Priority Nursing Actions boxes outline and explain clinical emergent situations requiring immediate action, including detailed rationales and textbook references to help strengthen your prioritizing skills in clinical and testing situations. Pyramid Alert boxes highlight important nursing concepts to help you focus on the content that is most frequently tested on the NCLEX examination. Automatic software updates on CD make it easy to check for changes and updates throughout the life of the edition.
Call Number: RT 55 .S28 2011 (NR)
ISBN: 9781437708257

A Monroe College Research Guide

THIS RESEARCH OR "LIBGUIDE" WAS PRODUCED BY THE LIBRARIANS OF MONROE COLLEGE