Information Literacy Pre-test

JavaScript isn't enabled in your browser, so this file can't be opened. Enable and reload.

Information Literacy Pre-test - Spring 2019

Email *

Full Name *

Student ID Number *

Class *

Professor

How many times have you taken this test? This is my *

0 points

First time

Second time

Third time

Fourth time

What do you expect to learn from library resources instruction? (Standards 1,2,4)

2 points

How to search for books using the Library's Catalog?

How to do research using library databases

How to create an APA- style paper?

All of the above

I don't know

Clear selection

A primary source is

5 points

The first reference book written on a subject.

The most important work written on a subject.

The only acceptable research source.

Written by someone who experienced the subject.

Clear selection

Scholarly journal articles are written

2 points

For a general audience.

By lower divison college students.

By experts in a suject.

Clear selection

Following APA format, which of the following are correct ways to cite information within the text of an essay or research paper?

2 points

The author does not need to be cited in the text if there is a citation on the references page.

Placing the cited author's name and page of text in parenthesese after information cited (Ford, 245).

Placing the cited author's name and year of text in parentheses after information cited (Ford, 2000).

Placing the cited author's name followed by the year in parentheses before information cited. Accordng to Ford (2000), then information.

Which is the best source to find current events?

2 points

Book

LIterature database

Encyclopedia

Newspaper

Clear selection

Go to this website https://www.aclu.org/news/aclu-tn-statement-release-video-daniel-hambrick-shooting Is there? check all that apply.

2 points

Author

Date

Title

Is this website reliable?

2 points

Yes

Clear selection

Library of Congress which books are in the correct order?

2 points

DS 558 .S47 2000, AC 5 .B422 2010, HD 62.4 .C8 2000

AC 5 .B422 2010, DS 558 .S47 2000, HD 62.4 .C8 2000

HD 62.4 .C8 2000, AC 5 .B422 2010, DS 558 .S47 2000

Clear selection

Your assignment is to write a research paper on bipolar disorder. Define the disorder, and its causes, prevention, and, treatment. What are the BEST keywords to use to START your research? (Standards 1,2,3)

2 points

Bipolar AND Defin*

Bipolar

Bipolar research

Bipolar assignment

I don't know

Clear selection

Which of the following is an example of Truncation? (Standards 1,2,3)

5 points

nutri* (Finds: nutrition, nutrient, nutrients, etc.)

"nutrition information"

nutrition AND nutrients

nutrition OR nutrients

I don't know

Clear selection

Where on MyMonroe would you go to narrow a topic? (Standards 1,2,3)

2 points

Database A-Z

Gale General OneFile Topic Finder

MoeCat

I don't know

Clear selection

Where would you find instructions and guides on how to write, conduct research, and format your paper in APA style? (Standards 2,3,4)

2 points

Databases

LibGuides

MoeCat

Password

I don't know

Clear selection

What five characteristics should you consider when evaluating whether a website is presenting valid information? (Standards 2,4,5)

5 points

Navigation, structure, purpose, graphics, and format

Currency, relevance, authority, accuracy and purpose

Layout, graphics, time, currency and publisher

I don't know

Clear selection

Which statement below is true? (Standards 4,5)

2 points

You can find any information online if you just research long enough.

Banner ads and chat rooms will often lead you to the best quality information.

Because of copyright laws, nothing worthwhile is ever published on the internet.

Not all online sources provide reliable or authoritative information.

I don't know

Clear selection

Which is the best tool to find scholarly, academic, and peer-reviewed articles? (Standards 2,3,4)

2 points

Google

Academic OneSearch in Monroe College Electronic Databases

Moecat

All of the above

I don't know

Clear selection

Boolean searching allows you to add words AND, OR and NOT (known as operators). What does each of these operators do? (Check all that apply) (Standards 3)

3 points

AND broadens search results.

AND narrows search results.

OR broadens search results.

OR narrows search results.

NOT broadens search results.

NOT narrows search results.

I don't know

What are LibGuides? (Standards 2,3,4)

2 points

An electronic database

Option 2

Guides with instructions on how to write, conduct research, and format your paper in APA style

I don't know

Clear selection

What Library Classification System does the Monroe College Library use? (Standard 2,3)

4 points

APA Style

Dewey

Library of Congress Subject Headings

I don't know

Clear selection

What is true about Wikipedia? (Check all that apply.) (Standards 2,3,4)

5 points

Because anyone can edit the articles in Wikipedia, the information is always peer-reviewed, up-to-date, and reliable.

Wikipedia is a good place to start when you want to find general information about a topic.

Wikipedia has the most complete information, as it is updated on a regular basis and hence is a reliable source of information.

Wikipedia should not be used without verifying the information in reliable sources such as primary research articles, review article, field guides, and websites that are produced by recognized research organizations.

I don't know

The information you find on the internet is usually: (Standards 2,3,4)

5 points

More reliable than information you find in books.

Compiled and/or produced by experts and scholars.

Possibly reliable, but should always be put through the Currency, Relevance, Accuracy, Authority, Purpose (CRAAP) test.

I don't know

Clear selection

Scholarly articles are often published in: (Standards 2,3)

2 points

Academic Journals

Newspapers

Wikipedia

Magazines

I don't know

Clear selection

Where can we search to be sure to locate scholarly journal articles? (Standard 2,3)

5 points

Websites

Internet

Monroe College Electronic Databases

I don't know

Clear selection

An APA style book citation includes: (Standards 4, 5)

5 points

Author Lastname, FirsInitial, MiddleInitial. (Date). Article or Book Title. Journal or Periodical Title. Publisher:City.

Author Lastname, Firstinitial, MiddleInitial. (Date). Title of Book(Italic).

Title of Book(Italic). Author Lastname, FirstInitial, MiddleInitial. (Date). Publisher.

Author Lastname, FirstInitial, MiddleInitial. (Date). Title of Book(Italic). Publishing City: State, Publisher.

Clear selection

An APA style citation for a scholarly journal article found on the internet includes: (Standards 4,5)

5 points

Author Lastname, FirstInittial, MiddleInitial. (Date). Title of Article. Publication Name(Italic), Volume#(Issue#) Pages. doi:xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Author Lastname, FirstInitial, MiddleInitial. (Date). Publication Name(Italic), volume#(issue#).

Author Lastname, FirstInitial, MiddleInitial. Publication Name, Title of Article. Retireved from EBSCO database

I don't know

Other:

Clear selection

It is okay to copy and paste from the internet and not cite the information as long as it is free. (Standards 4,5)

5 points

True

False

I don't know

Clear selection

Regardless of cost or source location, every source of information you use for your research must be cited. (Standard 4,5)

5 points

True

False

I don't know

Clear selection

Plagiarism is when you take information that you have read, keep the same number of words, change some of the words, and create a reference citation. (Standards 4,5)

5 points

True

False

I don't know

Clear selection

Paraphrasing is when you take information that you have read, keep the same number of words, but change the words and create a reference citation. (Standards 4,5)

5 points

True

False

I don't know

Clear selection

If you were asked to research teenagers and crime, where might you find the best research resources? (Standards 1,2,3)

5 points

Discovery for Monroe College

Academic Search Premier

ProQuest Criminal Justice Database

I don't know

Clear selection

Submit

Clear form

Never submit passwords through Google Forms.

This content is neither created nor endorsed by Google. Report Abuse - Terms of Service - Privacy Policy

Forms