Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Page Title

APA Style Annotated Bibliography: Formatting Your References Page

What is an annotated bibliography? Why write an annotated bibliography? This guide will show you how and why your Bibliography and Annotations are important to the research process.

References Page Setup

NOTE: In APA 7th edition, the Running head is no longer required for student papers.

  • Your references should begin on a new page separate from the text of the essay.

  • Title this page References centered and bolded at the top of the page.

  • All text should be double-spaced just like the rest of your essay.

  • Citations are listed in alphabetical order.

Whichever font you choose, the selected font should be used consistently throughout the entire paper.
View sample citations for online media in various formats on the APA website.

Citation Key & Examples

 

Citation Key

Your citation needs to show the who, when, what, and where of your source material - in that order.

4 Crucial Elements of a Full APA Citation - Who When What Where

 

 

Sample  APA 7th ed. References Page

                                                                                                                    12                      

References

Apsolon, M. (2011, September 9). Real ghost girl caught on video tape [Video]. YouTube.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6nyGCbxD848   

Bernstein, M. (2002). 10 tips on writing the living web. A List Apart: For People Who Make Websites, p. 149.  https://www.alistapart.com/articles/writeliving

Calfee, R. C. & Valencia, R. R. (1991). APA guide to preparing manuscripts for journal publication. American
Psychological Association.

Campbell, A. F. (2016, September 12). The truth about undocumented immigrants and taxes. The Atlantic
https://www.theatlantic.com/business/archive/2016/09/undocumented-immigrants-and-taxes/499604/

Funk, R., & Kolln, M. (1998). Introduction. In E. W. Ludlow (Ed.), Understanding English grammar (pp. 1-2).
In The Purdue OWL. https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/560/06/ Allyn and Bacon.

Hurley, J. (2015). History is what bites: zombies, race, and the limits of biopower in Colson Whitehead's Zone One. Extrapolation56(3), 311+

Inada, K. (1990). A Buddhist response to the nature of human rights. Dickinson College. http://blogs.dickinson.edu/buddhistethics/files/2010/04/A-Buddhist-Response-to-the-Nature-of-
Human-Rights.pdf 

Parker-Pope, T. (2008, May 6). Psychiatry handbook linked to drug industry. The New York Times. https://well.blogs.nytimes.com/2008/05/06/psychiatry-handbook-linked-to-drug-industry/

Wooldridge, M.B., & Shapka, J. (2012). Playing with technology: Mother-toddler interaction scores lower during
play with electronic toys. 
Journal of Applied Developmental Psychology, 33(5), 211-218. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.appdev.2012.05.005

 

 

Common Sample Reference Citations from the APA

Links to cite it for you:

CiteFast RECOMMENDED 

CiteFast citation generator provides both complete APA Citations and also pre-formatted In-text Citations.

 - KnightCite Citation Service  

KnightCite is an online citation generator service provided by the Hekman Library of Calvin College.

Purdue Owl

The rules of how to use in-text citations and cite anything tricky for MLA or APA papers.‚Äč

Scribber APA Citation Generator

Worldcat (for citing printed books)

Find your book and click on the “cite” tool at the top right of the screen.

Video: Set Up Your References Page (Excelsior OWL)

Format a Hanging Indent in MS Word or Google Docs

Format a Hanging Indent in Microsoft Word

First, select the citation you wish to format.

 

Next, in Paragraph Toolbar,

 

(Tiny arrow in corner of toolbar - should generate a Paragraph Tools popout window.)

 

 

In PopOut Window, select : Indentation / Special / Hanging / By: 0.5" (important)!

Create a Hanging Indent Capture.PNG

Format a Hanging Indent in Google Docs

First, select the citation you wish to format.

 

Next, iFormat toolbar, select: 
Align & Indent > Indentation Options > Special > Hanging > By: 0.5"

 

 Google Docs Hanging Indent Screen Cap