Databases (Electronic Resources): How to Use the Databases

Browse Topics in Opposing Viewpoints

Browse Topics in Issues & Controversies

Three databases that specialize in peer-reviewed articles are:

Academic OneFile (Gale)

Research Library (ProQuest) 

(Check the box marked Peer reviewed.)

Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)

ALL Databases offer the ability to Download Full-Text Articles and APA Citations. 

Be sure to download the full text of all articles you wish to use for your paper, and be sure to download and save the APA 7 citation for all articles you download.

WHAT IS CREDO REFERENCE?

CREDO Reference is basically  a giant collection of encyclopedias from many different academic disciplines (i.e.: medical encyclopedias, history texts, psychology reference sources, etc.) gathered together in one place. If you need definitions and vocabulary/overview articles, this is a good place to start.

Ask your instructor whether encyclopedia articles are appropriate sources for the paper you are working on.

Use this box to search for articles on your topic in Google Scholar.

Google Scholar can be a good source of scholarly journal articles.

Hint: If you find a link to an article in Google Scholar, but don't have access to the full text, try looking for that article in the databases. The databases offer full-text access to many articles not available elsewhere. 

ALL Databases offer the ability to 
Download Full Text Articles and APA Citations. 

When you use the Full-text function in the databases, your search results will show articles that you can download in their entirety. Be sure to download the full text of all articles you wish to use for your paper, and be sure to download and save the APA 7 citation for all articles you download.

Use the illustration above to locate these functions in the database toolbars, or download How to Use the Databases for full details and instructions.

Need some ideas for an essay topic? 

Looking for an issue to write/speak about? 

Read your assignment carefully for details of required or suggested topics.

Context-oriented Websites and Databases:

ProCon.org     OR

Gale Opposing Viewpoints Database (click on Browse Issues).

​​​Try our list of credible news sources.

What issues are directly affecting you right now?

● The City: (for local issues like: education, economy, transportation, housing, justice, elections, environment, and work).

● APA’s Psychology Topics (for mental health issues, e.g.: stress, personality, depression, anxiety, etc.)

● National Institutes of Health (for health and medical topics, e.g.: diabetes, heart health, COVID, fitness, healthy eating, etc.)