Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Page Title

Databases (Electronic Resources): Magazines/ Newspapers/ Journals

To access the Databases from off-campus, you must log into MyMonroe.* If you are unable to see the Library Resources icon, please call IT at 646-393-8290 and request correction of your status from "Member" to "Student."

Periodical Types

PERIODICAL TYPES: SCHOLARLY JOURNALS / TRADE JOURNALS / POPULAR MAGAZINES

 

There are generally three (3) types of publications, which you should distinguish as follows: 

Peer-Reviewed /
Scholarly Journals

Trade Journals

Popular Magazines

Overall Look
and Layout

Primarily print with few pictures.

Tables, graphs and diagrams are often included.

If there are ads, they are for books or conferences.

Cover often depicts industrial setting.

Pictures and illustrations in color.

Ads are mostly trade related.

Eye-catching cover.

Pictures and illustrations in color.

Colorful ads for commercial products.

Audience

Scholars, researchers, practitioners.

Members of a specific business, industry or organization.

General public.

Authors

Experts in the field (ie faculty members, researchers).

Authors named and institutional affiliations given.

Magazine staff members, contributing authors or freelance writers.

Authors usually named.

Magazine staff members, journalists, freelance writers.

Authors may be anonymous (ie articles are unsigned).

Editors

Editorial board of outside scholars (peer review)

Editors work for publisher.

Editors work for publisher.

Publishers

Often a scholarly or professional organization or a university press.

Often a trade organization.

Commercial, for profit.

Content

Research projects, methodology, literary criticism, and theory.

Industry trends, new products or techniques, and organizational news.

News, personalities and general interest articles.

Writing Style
and Language

Terminology, jargon & language of the discipline covered. Assumes reader has s scholarly background.

Uses terminology and language of trade or industry covered.

Easy to read, simple language used.

Aimed at the layperson.

References
or Bibliographies

Articles include a bibliography, references, notes and/or works cited section

Articles may have short bibliographies.

Articles rarely include references.

Examples

 

Journal of Abnormal Psychology

PLOS ONE

JAMA Open – the Open-Access arm of the Journal of the American Medical Association

Journal of Internet Banking and Commerce

Corrections Today

CyTA Journal of Food

Psychology Today

Vice Magazine 

Game Informer

 

 

Finding Publications or Periodicals by Subject using A-Z Link

If you have chosen a research topic but don't know specific journals, newspapers or magazines to search, you can use the A to Z Link to browse by subject.

A to Z Link is a database of periodicals or publications included in the other library databases.  It will link you to the database in which the periodical or publications you're looking for is located.

 

You can search for relevant periodicals or publications in two ways:

First: Enter the subject you are searching for in the Search field at the top of the screen.

 

Then, a list of Criminal Justice Magazines / Newspapers / Journals will appear. 

 

Or: Click on the subject of interest to you within the Browse by Discipline box at the bottom of the page: