Page Title
Skip to Main Content

Website Evaluation and Citation: Finding News Articles on the Internet and/or Databases

This guide offers you some questions to ask yourself before you decide a web site has the information you need.

Newspaper or Website Articles

Do you need an article from a newspaper or website? 

Always run the CRAAP Test to Evaluate any websites for the quality of their information.

Newspaper articles:

  • are published for a general public audience (but are not "scholarly" research articles).
  • must pass editorial review (The editorial board of a news provider is not the same as a scholarly peer-review panel.)
  • are usually (but not always) subject to the journalistic code of ethics
  • at the national level, can be reasonably expected to have been fact-checked prior to publication

Tips on Fact Checking:

  • When you use the Internet, you should always try to find out who posted the information and how much they know about it.
  • Are they experts in their field? 

For more help (and to learn about the CRAAP test), see the Website Evaluation & Citation LibGuide

Need both sides of the story? Try starting here:

Websites: (no login required) Databases: (use instructions below to gain access)

Pew Research Center

ProCon.org

Issues and Controversies (InfoBase)

Opposing Viewpoints In Context (GALE)

Using the Databases:
1.) Login to MyMonroe.  
2.) Click on the Library Resources icon.Library Resources Icon MyMonroe 3.) Choose +Databases .

Suggested Websites for Newspaper and Website Articles

 

Finding Newspaper Articles in the Library Databases

In order to use the sources listed below, you'll need to log in to the Library Databases.

Go to MyMonroe and select the Library Resources Gadget Library Resources Icon

(Login details here.)

You might want to try:​​​​​​​.

Using Databases to Avoid Newspaper Paywalls

IMPORTANT!

When the Internet gives you a paywall, you can usually get the whole article from the Databases

Simply Log In to My Monroe >
Library Resources >
Databases >

and choose 

National Newspapers Premier (ProQuest).

Next, do a Publication Search for the Newspaper of your choice:
Then Search the Publication for the Title of your article:

 

Search for the Newspaper, then enter the Title of the Article You Need

Searching Worksheets

This worksheet will help you think about what you should be searching, and put your thoughts into order.