Skip to main content

Open Access Scholarly Materials Guide: Open Access

This Guide is adapted from the University of Kentucky Open Access Guide, generously shared.

Thanks to the University of Kentucky Libraries

This Open Access LibGuide has been adapted with the generous permission of the University of Kentucky Libraries. Their full Open Access LibGuide is available here.

Open Access Tracking Project

The Open Access Tracking Project provides real-time alert service for news about open access and other scholarly communication topics. 

Loading

What Is Open Access?

"Open-access (OA) literature is digital, online, free of charge, and free of most copyright and licensing restrictions.  What makes it possible is the internet and the consent of the author or copyright-holder."                          A Very Brief Introduction to Open Access by Peter Suber

The open access movement promotes the practice that scholarly publications are made available online without prohibitively high access costs and stringent copyright and licensing restrictions.  It facilitates quicker and broader dissemination of knowledge by removing the price and permission barriers to research outcomes. 

Open access is compatible with features of traditional publishing such as peer review, journal prestige, and researchers' career advancement.  It also offers many advantages, including:

These books provide excellent introduction to open access:

ROAD Directory of Open Access Scholarly Resources

Search the ROAD directory
Click the image above to search the Directory of Open Access Scholarly Resources



Search UNESCO UIS.Stat

Click the image above to search UIS.Stat.

UIS.Stat contains all the latest available UNESCO data and indicators, for education, literacy, science, technology and innovation, culture, communication and information.

Resources about Open Access Books

Open Access Theses and Dissertations

Selected Open Access Resources by Subject

   
Selected Open Access Resources from the OAD (Open Access Directory)

Law

  • Also see SSRN under Social sciences, below.
  • Bepress Legal Repository. Submissions in English and other languages for individual scholars through Selected Works​

Education 2 (OER)

(This is a list of repositories for open educational resources. Also see the OAD list of OER lists, in our section of Lists maintained by others. For repositories for research in the field of education, see Education 1, above.)

  • CSTA Source. "An Online Repository of K-12 Computer Science Teaching and Learning Materials." From the Computer Science Teachers Association(CSTA).
  • MERLOT (Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching).
  • OER Commons.
  • RELPE (Red Latinoamericana Portales Educativos/ Latin American Network of Education Portals).
  • SOL*R (Sharable Online Learning Resources. "A Repository of Freely Available Online Learning Resources." "For British Columbia public post-secondary educators."

More Open Access Data Repositories

Oad2.jpeg
This list is part of the Open Access Directory.
This is a list of repositories and databases for open data.

Contents

Related lists in OAD: Disciplinary repositories (primarily for texts, not data).

For news about data repositories, including some newly launched repositories not yet listed here, follow the oa.repositories.data tag of the Open Access Tracking Project.

See also: re3data.org. The re3data.org project intends to create a global registry of research data repositories.

See also: Databib. Databib is a tool for helping people identify and locate online repositories of research data.

Resources about Open Access Journals