Skip to main content

Library Newsletter: Current: Fall 2017 (Library Basics)

Current and past editions of the Library Newsletters are available here, with lists of New Titles and Library Info.

Welcome to the Library!

Library NewsletterFall 2017: Annual Library Resources Edition


The library is: 

  • a quiet place to study, 
  • with access to a books, computers, wifi, and electronic databases for your research, 
  • and assistance in formatting your APA-style papers.

In this issue:

Featured Databases: Gale Opposing Viewpoints and Issues & Controversies

If your research project calls for different points of view,
or a variety of opinions on a single topic,
where do you turn?

Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context and Infobase Issues & Controversies offer facts, statistics, and a variety of opinions on hot topics of the day. 

 


Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context 
Opposing Viewpoints in Context will provide you with a broad array of reference materials from various academic, mainstream, and vetted online sources. You can use it to better understand the issues related to your chosen topic, and to frame compelling arguments for papers and essays.  


To access database on campus, click icon or database title above. 

For off-campus access go to: MyMonroe > Library Resources > Databases > All Gale Databases

OpposingViewpoints.PNG

Infobase Issues & Controversies  
This database also presents facts, perspectives, and insights on a wide variety of topics in business, politics, government, education and popular culture.

To Access Database: Go to MyMonroe > Library Resources > Databases > Issues & Controversies 

Essential Library Information

The library's webpage, our LibGuidesand MoeCat (the library's catalog) are your keys to access the resources you will need for your college-level academic research work.

Electronic Databases are accessible via MyMonroe.
Important: If you log in to MyMonroe and do not see the Library Resources Icon, you may need to call IT and have them change your status from "Member" to "Student." See below for details.

The library has Reserve copies of most (but not all) current course textbooks. By presenting your Monroe ID, you may use them in the library to study for a class, but Reserve books may not be borrowed or taken from the library.

The library has Circulating copies of books in many subject areas, such as Criminal Justice, Business, Healthcare and Culinary Arts. These books may be borrowed and taken out, using your Monroe College ID.

e-Books may be borrowed and read online, at the library or remotely via MyMonroe. They are fully searchable, and selected chapters may be downloaded for use in your research. 

Our Reference collection contains standard, core titles in many disciplines for basic research. These books may be used in the library only.

APA Basics, Library FAQ, and Other Helpful LibGuides

When writing a research paper, you will need to know how to:

  • Find a book in MoeCat (the library catalog)
  • Conduct research using the library's Electronic Databases
  • Submit your paper in APA-Style format

Luckily, there's a LibGuide for that!

Useful LibGuides for writing and research:

DOWNLOAD the Library Instruction PDF

Everything you need to know to get started with your Research Project in one convenient PDF.

Bronx Library Information

BRONX LIBRARY

Thomas P. Schnitzler Library
Jerome Hall (lower level)
2468 Jerome Avenue
Bronx, NY 10468

(646) 393-8333 
library@monroecollege.edu

BRONX LIBRARY HOURS
FALL 2017 

Monday - Wednesday:
8:00 am - 8:00 pm

Thursday: 
8:00 am - 7:30 pm

Friday - Saturday:
9:00 am - 2:00 pm

 
Sunday:
Closed

New Rochelle Library Information

NEW ROCHELLE LIBRARY 

Franklin Hall 
(enter through Main Hall)
434 Main Street
New Rochelle, NY 10801

(914) 740-6437 
tgordon@monroecollege.edu


NEW ROCHELLE LIBRARY HOURS
FALL 2017

Monday - Thursday:
8:30 am - 10:00 pm

Friday:
9:00 am - 4:00 pm

 

Saturday - Sunday:
12:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Graduate Research Center

The Graduate Resarch Center
Ustin Hall - Room 215
2375 Jerome Avenue, Bronx, NY
(646)393-8222

kgs_researchcenter
@monroecollege.edu
 

Click link below to enlarge hours.

Popular Titles for Research Projects

Bullying/School Violence

Business and Work/Life Balance

Cybercrime

Opposing Viewpoints 
a series of books on current issues which seeks to encourage critical thinking and awareness by providing opposing views on contentious issues.

Prisons and Sentencing Reform