Authors & Literary Criticism: Literature Databases, Websites, & Academic Journals

This guide will help you become aware of high quality information on authors & literary criticism.

Databases for Literary Criticism

Library Databases:

- CREDO Reference (searches multiple literary encyclopedias simultaneously)

For instructions on how to access the databases when you are off-campus, click here.

Web Resources:

- edX Listing of Free Literature Classes from Multiple sources

- Library of Congress Author Webcasts (including discussions with authors such as Chinua Achebe, Isabel Allende, and Toni Morrison)

- PBS American Masters Literature Database

- Smithsonian Institution Websites:

- American Women Writers

- National Museum of African American History & Culture: African American Literature

Poetry Resources:

- MAPS Modern American Poetry Site

DOWNLOADABLE PRESENTATION from The Purdue OWL:
Writing a Literary Analysis

Writing a Literary Analysis
Guidance from the Purdue OWL on writing a Literary Analysis

APA Basics
APA Basics is a quick run-down of the basic rules of using APA. Included in this guide is information on how to: write an abstract; format headings; cite information in-text; and construct your References page.
Conducting Effective Research
This guide will help you conduct research and write papers.
Electronic Resources (Databases)
The library subscribes to numerous databases in which to find scholarly and peer-reviewed journal articles, eBooks, and much more. Accessible anywhere on campus or remotely 24/7 by logging into MyMonroe.
Essay Writing
The Monroe College Guide to Essay Writing presents the information necessary to write effective essays.
Structuring the Five-Paragraph Essay
A handy guide created by the Bronx Campus Writing Resource Center

Step 1: Log in to My Monroe / Library Resources / Databases

Step 2: Choose A-Z Link
Step 3: Choose Literature & Writing Journals
Step 4: Search within journals using name of author or school of literary thought/criticism. *Note limiters:* - Peer-reviewed journals and - Literature & Writing.
Step 5: Refine results. Added limiter: Full-Text Access.