Credo ReferenceEBSCOhostFacts on FileFoundation CenterGaleJstorLexisNexisMergentProQuestSageScholastic/Grolier OnlineStandard & Poor's
This is the "Home" page of the "Guide to Electronic Resources (Databases)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Guide to Electronic Resources (Databases)   Tags: databases, electronic resources, online resources, research  

The library subscribes to numerous databases in which to find scholarly and peer-reviewed journal articles, eBooks, business information, scholarships resources, and much more. Accessible anywhere on campus or remotely 24/7 by logging into MyMonroe.
Last Updated: Mar 24, 2014 URL: http://monroecollege.libguides.com/electronicresources Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Databases

The library subscribes to numerous electronic resources.  If you are on campus, click on any database listed to the right (this will open a new window where you can search the database). 

If you are off campus, they can be accessed by logging into MyMonroe (add the Library Resources 'gadget' and click on databases).

Alphabetical List of Databases

A-Z Link (EBSCOhost)

Looking for a particular journal title but not sure which database it’s in?  Use A-Z link for a comprehensive alphabetical listing of all journals available in all the library databases (not just for EBSCO databases!).

 

ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest)

Over 5,400 journals, nearly 80% of which are in full-text. Covers key disciplines such as accounting, economics, finance, information technology, management, marketing, operations, real estate, risk management, supply chain and includes major titles.

 

Academic OneFile (Gale)

A source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles (numbering in the millions) from leading journals and reference sources, with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.  Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995.  Provided by NOVEL-NY*

 

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)

A multidisciplinary database that provides full-text for more than 8,500 journals, including peer-reviewed titles.  Back files to 1975 or further are available for some journals.

 

Barron’s (ProQuest)

Access to top news stories in business, finance and economics. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, and more. 

 

Black Newspapers (ProQuest)

Collection of primary source material essential to the study of African-American culture, history, politics, and the arts.  Examine major movements from the Harlem Renaissance to Civil Rights.

 

Business Insights: Essentials (Gale) (formerly Business & Company Resource Center)

This comprehensive database brings together a wide variety of global business information including company profiles, as well as business magazines and newspapers. It contains full-text from over 3000 periodical titles.  Provided by NOVEL-NY*

 

Business Source Premier (EBSCO)

Provides full-text for more than 2,300 journals, including full-text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. This database provides full-text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Updated daily.

CINAHL Plus (EBSCO)

Comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full-text for more than 760 journals indexed in CINAHL.

 

Credo Reference

An easy to use tool for research projects and homework. A giant online collection that searches hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations and subject specific titles as well as 200,000+ images and audio files and nearly 100 videos.

 

Criminal Justice Periodical Index (Proquest)

U.S. and international criminal justice journal database. Provides research support for students pursuing careers in criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security.

 

eBooks on EBSCOHost (formerly NetLibrary)

Provides access to e-Books (digital version of books and journals). You can access the library’s eContent 24 hours a days, seven days a week.

 
Encyclopedia Americana (Grolier Online)

Articles include links to further readings, a bibliography, selected full-text articles, and web links. Provided by NOVEL-NY*

 

Eric (EBSCO)

U.S. Department of Education's Educational Resource Information Center database.  Contains more than 1,300,000 records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents from education journals dating back to 1966.

 

Foundation Grants to Individuals Online

Find sources for scholarships, fellowships, grants, awards, and other financial support.

 

Gale Virtual Reference Library

An eBook database that includes Business Plans Handbook, Contemporary Black Biography and Twayne’s Author Series.  More titles to be added soon!

 

General OneFile (Gale)

Periodical articles on a wide range of topics including art, business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles and images.  Provided by NOVEL-NY*

 

GreenFILE (EBSCO)

Well researched information covering all aspects of the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Provided by NOVEL-NY*

 

Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia (Grolier Online)

Includes encyclopedia articles, news, timelines, quizzes and games, and research starters. It also includes an atlas and dictionary. Provided by NOVEL-NY*

 

Health Reference Center Academic (Gale)

Provides access to the full-text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources.  Provided by NOVEL-NY*

 

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO)

Provides nearly 550 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.

 

Historical New York Times (Proquest)

searchable Index going back to 1851.


Hoover’s Academic (D & B Mergent):

Business information for student research, key executive biographies, complete industry coverage, and detailed company fact sheets with financials and descriptions.

 

Integrated Search (EBSCO)

Use this search tool to search nearly all of the library’s databases simultaneously – not just for EBSCO databases!  Note: databases not included are Black Newspapers, Hoover’s, and S&P NetAdvantage. These databases much be searched separately.

 

InfoTrac Newsstand (Gale)

This full-text newspaper database has several New York Newspapers including the New York Times from 1995 on, and over 1,000 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers. Provided by NOVEL-NY*

 

Issues and Controversies (Facts on File)

Explores more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture.

 

Jstor

Quality interdisciplinary content to support scholarship and teaching, Jstor contains more than a thousand academic journals and over a million images, letters, and other primary sources and is one of the world's most trusted sources for academic content.

 

LexisNexis Academic

Full-text access to 10,000 sources, including regional, national and international newspapers, company profiles, case law, medicine and, country reports.

 

LibGuides

Research assistance, subject guides, and useful resources compiled by your friendly librarians. Know what we know - find it in LibGuides!

 

Literature Resource Center (Gale)

A complete literature reference databases rich in biographical and critical content.  Includes entries for authors from all periods and from genres including fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism.  Contains Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Drama for Students, and Novels for Students.

 

MEDLINE with Full-Text (EBSCO)

The U.S. National Library of Medicine’s database is a comprehensive medical information source of full-text for more than 1,450 journals and indexing for over 4,800 titles.  Includes information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, etc.

 

Mergent Online

Tracks company and industry information in more countries than any other database and delivers comprehensive suite of authoritative financial information.

 

Military & Government Collection (EBSCO)

Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full-text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles.

 

MoeCat

Online catalog of the library’s holdings.  Look up books, videos and other material housed in the physical library, as well as eBooks.

 

National Newspapers Premier (ProQuest)

Online access to current and back issues of the most respected national and regional newspapers from across the U.S.  Titles include The Wall Street Journal, Christian Science Monitor, Washington Post, Barrons, USA Today and many more.

 

National Newspaper Index (Gale)  

Provides article citations from 1977 to present for the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times and the Washington Post.  Provided by NOVEL-NY*

 

Newspaper Source (EBSCO)

Provides cover-to-cover full-text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc.  Also contains selective full-text for more than 370 regional newspapers. In addition, full-text television and radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, NPR, etc.

 

New York State Newspapers (Gale)

Provided by NOVEL-NY*

 

New York Times (ProQuest)

 

OmniFile Full-text Select (EBSCO)

A multidisciplinary, 100% full-text database providing articles from more than 1,600 publications from the following Wilson databases: Art Full-text, Applied Science & Technology Full-text, Biological & Agricultural Index, Education Full-text, General Science Full-text, Humanities Full-text, Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, Library Literature & Information Science Full-text, Readers' Guide Full-text, Social Sciences Full-text, and Wilson Business Full-text.

 

Professional Development Collection (EBSCO)

Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.

ProQuest Education Journals

Access over 790 top educational publications, including more than 615 of the titles in full-text.Covers hundreds of educational topics including primary, secondary, higher education, special education, home schooling, adult education, and more.

 

ProQuest Health Management

For researchers studying the field of health administration, this database provides reliable  information on a wide range of topics, including hospitals, insurance, law, statistics, business management, personnel management, ethics, health economics, and public health administration.  Includes more than 795 key journals with over 4,500 doctoral dissertations and theses.

 

ProQuest Psychology Journals

Abstracts and indexing for more than 650 titles, over 540 of which are full-text. Covers a range of psychology disciplines including behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial, personality, physiological, psychobiology, psychometrics, and social psychology. Titles include The American Journal of Psychiatry, Psychotherapy and Psychosomatics, Development and Psychopathology, and The Psychological Record.

 

ProQuest Research Library

Multidisciplinary database covering subjects such as the arts, business, children, education, health, humanities, international law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social science, and women’s interest.  Includes more than 4,070 titles from 1971.  Features a mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.

 


Regional Business News (EBSCO)

Comprehensive full-text coverage for regional business publications. Incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.  Includes titles from Crain Communications.

Sage Journals Online

Electronic access to over 500 SAGE journal titles in business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine with a back file to 1999.

 

Social Science Journals (Proquest)

Access to over 570 scientific journals. Provides information of addiction studies, urban studies, family studies, international relations, and more. 

 

S&P’s NetAdvantage

Research tool for business information, news & commentary from S&P’s analysts.  Publications available are Industry Surveys, The Outlook, Stock Reports, Mutual Fund Reports, Register of Corporations and information on S&P 500, S&P Midcap, S&P Small Cap 600 indexes.

 

Today’s Science (Facts on File)

Bridges the gap between the science that students learn in the classroom and the discoveries pushing the boundaries of science today.

 

The Wall Street Journal  (1984 - current) (ProQuest)

 

World News Digest (Facts on File)

Brings together and enhances nearly seven decades of news form the renowned Facts on File World News Digest in print.

 

 

Database Tip:

If you receive an authentication error, close the window and click on the database link again (you may have to clear your browser's cache).  If you still have problems, contact the library at library@monroecollege.edu or 646.393.8333.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip