Page Title
Skip to Main Content

LA 122 & LA 205 - Communication and Public Speaking Resources: Oral Communication Basics

This guide will direct you to resources for public speaking, communications, and information on important speeches by public figures. This LibGuide might be helpful if you are taking LA 122 or LA 205.

Oral Communication Basics

Image of woman giving a slide presentation

This LibGuide is a companion to LA 122, Fundamentals of Communication. 

This class explores theories and practice of oral and written communication.

 

We'll address practical skills such as:

In addition, we'll discuss:

How to Give a Killer Presentation

Giving Speeches: Tips and Help

Toastmasters International Resources

 

The mission of Toastmasters International is to "empower individuals to become more effective communicators and leaders."  Their website contains some great resources to help you hone your public speaking skills.
Try their:

Toastmasters Club at Monroe College

Do you want to become a confident public speaker and strong leader? If so, Toastmasters is the place for you. Toastmaster’s international is a world leader in communication and leadership development. By regularly giving speeches, gaining feedback, leading teams and guiding others to achieve their goals in a supportive atmosphere, leaders emerge from the Toastmasters program. 

On the 2nd & 4th, Wednesdays of each month at 6:30 pm meet us to practice, learn, grow, mentor, and share. 

For additional information, contact:
Edith Banks, MPS
Dean of First Year Experience, Bronx Campus

PH: 646.393.8237

 

Witt Communications: Define Your Audience - Questions to Ask When Composing Your Speech

Here's some advice from the experts at Witt Communications on knowing your audience:

 

Understand your Audience
Knowing who you’re talking to – your audience – is as important as knowing what you’re talking about – your subject. Your audience’s knowledge level, experience, learning style, and attitudes will – or should – affect how you shape and present your material.

Find the answers to these questions:

  • What does you audience already know about your subject?
  • Are they experts like yourself or neophytes?
  • How much knowledge can you take for granted?
  • How much background will you have to explain?
  • Will they understand basic jargon?
  • What is their learning style?
  • Are they accustomed to sitting through lectures and holding their questions to the end? Or will they expect to interact with you, asking questions throughout your presentation?
  • Do they like lots of PowerPoint™ slides and handouts? Or are they expecting you to be more interactive?
  • What are their opinions, prejudices, preconceived notions, agendas?
  • What is their stake in the subject?
  • How will your presentation affect their research or work?

Watch a Youtube video on Website Evaluation

Visual learner? These videos (by library professionals) help you determine the credibility of any website.

Where to Look for Topic Ideas

Need some ideas for an essay topic? 

Girl Having Thoughts

 

 

 

 

 

 

Looking for an issue to write or speak about? 

Read your assignment carefully for details of required or suggested topics.

Current Events

Context-oriented Websites and Databases:

Topics in your life

What issues are directly affecting you right now?

● The City: (for local issues like: education, economy, transportation, housing, justice, elections, environment, and work).

● APA’s Psychology Topics (for mental health issues, e.g.: stress, personality, depression, anxiety, etc.)

● National Institutes of Health (for health and medical topics, e.g.: diabetes, heart health, COVID, fitness, healthy eating, etc.)

Finding Newspaper and Website Articles on the Internet

Go to the best source for the type of information that you want.

Some suggested websites:

Should I Trust a Site?

The CRAAP* Test was developed by Sarah Blakeslee and other librarians at California State University at Chico.

DOES YOUR WEB RESOURCE PASS THE CRAAP TEST? 

Ask Yourself About:

Currency: When was the information published or posted?    

  • Has the information been revised or updated? 
  • Does your topic require current information, or will older sources work as well?
  • Are the links functional?

​Relevance: The importance of the information for your needs.

  • Does the information relate to your topic or answer your question?
  • Is the information at an appropriate level (i.e. not too elementary or advanced for your needs)?

Authority: The source of the information

  • Who is the author/publisher/source/sponsor?
  • What are the author's credentials or organizational affiliations?
  • Is the author qualified to write on the topic?
  • Is there contact information, such as a publisher or email address?
  • Does the URL reveal anything about the author or source? examples: .com .edu .gov .org .net

Accuracy: Is the information supported by evidence?

  • Where does the information come from?
  • Has the information been peer-reviewed or refereed?
  • Can you verify any of the information in another source or from personal knowledge?
  • Does the language or tone seem unbiased and free of emotion?
  • Are there spelling, grammar or typographical errors?

Purpose: What is the purpose of the information that you have  retrieved? Is it Informational, Educational or Commercial?

  • What is the purpose of the information? Is it to inform, educate, or entertain? Is it commercial (to sell a product), or persuasive (to convince the reader to agree with a particular point of view)?
  • Do the authors/sponsors make their intentions or purpose clear?
  • Is the information fact, opinion or propaganda?
  • Does the point of view appear objective and impartial?
  • Are there political, ideological, religious, institutional or personal biases? 

Finding Information: Recommended Databases and Websites

The library's databases can be accessed remotely 24/7 by logging into MyMonroe.

Click on the Library Resources icon Library Resources Icon MyMonroe, and then choose +Databases:  MyMonroeLoginScreenshot

Library Databases: 

Collection of articles providing concise and balanced coverage of the backgrounds, outcomes, and contemporary points of view for every major debate and conflict in American history.

Gale Virtual Research Library


Recommended Websites