Education Resources: Web Resources - ECE

This guide will help you become aware of high quality information on childhood education from the college library, web resources, and professional organizations.

Books & Journal Articles Aren't Enough?

There are many websites that can help you with both your research and in learning more about the education profession and the numerous issues and debated involved. Feel free to use these websites to supplement your other sources.

Developmental Milestones Quiz from the CDC

CDC - Digital Online Checklist
Skills such as taking a first step, smiling, and waving “bye bye” are called developmental milestones. Children reach milestones in how they play, learn, speak, act, and move.

Click on the age of your child to complete a milestone checklist online:

Research Websites

Child Care and Early Education Research Connections This link opens in a new window
Website and database providing scholarly research, reports, data, and more.
Child Trends This link opens in a new window
Child Trends is a nonprofit, nonpartisan research center that studies children at all stages of development.
The Condition of Education This link opens in a new window
Data collected by the US Department of Education.
Life Span Institute- Kansas Kids Ready for Learning This link opens in a new window
National Center for Education Statistics This link opens in a new window
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
New York City Department of Education This link opens in a new window
New York State Education Department This link opens in a new window
U.S. Department of Education This link opens in a new window
Official website of the federal organization which establishes policy, assesses, and researches the education system of the United States.

Teaching Resources and Lesson Plans

Awesome Library This link opens in a new window
Education directory and list of resources.
Database of Award-Winning Children's Literature This link opens in a new window
Database for identifying award-winning literature from around the world.
Early Childhood Today | Scholastic This link opens in a new window
Education World This link opens in a new window
Lesson planning and professional development website.
Ericae.net This link opens in a new window
Assessment and evaluation.
ESL Links and Resources This link opens in a new window
Database to locate ESL resources for students PreK-12
The Gateway to 21st Century Skills This link opens in a new window
Free educational materials.
International Children's Digital Library This link opens in a new window
THE Journal This link opens in a new window
Incorporating technology into education.
Kathy Schrock's Guide for Educators This link opens in a new window
List of online resources for teachers.
The Lesson Plan Library This link opens in a new window
Free lesson plans written by teachers.
Science NetLinks This link opens in a new window
Resource for science teachers.
Sites for Teachers This link opens in a new window
List of popular education-related websites.
Smithsonian Education This link opens in a new window
Provides teaching materials and resources.
Special Education Resources on the Internet This link opens in a new window
Index of special education resources.
WatchKnowLearn - Videos for kids to learn from This link opens in a new window

American Academy of Pediatrics Bright Futures Website

The Bright Futures initiative is supported by a variety of materials, including detailed guidelines, questionnaires, and assessments, to assist with implementing recommendations in Bright Futures: Guidelines for Health Supervision of Infants, Children, and Adolescents, 4th Edition. All materials are useful to a wide range of audiences:

Health care professionals in private and public health settings
Insurance companies
Parents and community members such as coaches, educators, and child care professionals who participate in youth-oriented activities

Monroe College Libraries and Virtual Reference Desk

The virtual reference desk provides real-time assistance for your research needs. It's a way to extend our support and resources to those who cannot visit the library in person.

Below are the Virtual Reference Desk, Bronx and New Rochelle Campus Library Hours For Spring Semester '24.

THE VIRTUAL REFERENCE DESK WILL BE CLOSED FOR THE BREAK. WILL REOPEN ON MONDAY, MAY 6th at 11:00 am

Monroe College Libraries Locations & Contact Information

EMAIL: library@monroecollege.edu

Dr. Donald E. Simon Memorial Library (Bronx Campus)

Phone: 646-393-8333

King Hall, 2nd Floor

New Rochelle Campus Library

Phone: 914-740-6437

Enter through Main Hall, adjacent to the Culinary Department

Monroe College Libraries Librarians

Chante Hope, Director of Library Services

Tom Gordon, New Rochelle Campus Librarian

Evan Frankl, Bronx Campus Librarian

Websites About Play in Early Childhood Education

Alliance for Childhood This link opens in a new window
IPAUSA.org This link opens in a new window
The USA affiliate of the International Play Association.

Young Children Need to Play!
"Play can be an effective and enjoyable way for children to develop skills:"

Play: Where Learning Begins! | National Association for the Education of Young Children This link opens in a new window

Childhood Development Links

Child Care and Early Education Research Connections This link opens in a new window
Website and database providing scholarly research, reports, data, and more.
Child Development Institute This link opens in a new window
FPG Child Development Institute This link opens in a new window
Research institute focused on young children.
Medline Plus: Child Development This link opens in a new window
Parenting and Child Health This link opens in a new window
World Bank's Early Childhood Development This link opens in a new window
Zero to Three This link opens in a new window

A Monroe College Research Guide

THIS RESEARCH OR "LIBGUIDE" WAS PRODUCED BY THE LIBRARIANS OF MONROE COLLEGE