Criminal Justice Resources: Government Data & Statistics

Books, websites and data sets relating to the various aspects of criminal justice

National and International Data Sources

Criminal Justice Statistics Online

FBI Uniform Crime Reports

Uniform Crime Reports This link opens in a new window
Several annual statistical publications are produced, through the Federal Bureau of Investigation (F.B.I.) from data provided by nearly 17,000 law enforcement agencies across the United States. Examples of UCR data available are "Crime in the U.S." and "Hate Crime Statistics."

Includes the National Use of Force Data Collection

National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) This link opens in a new window
Data you can search or browse and view at NACJD include: International data on criminal justice, Bureau of Justice Statistics-funded studies archived at NACJD, National Institute of Justice-funded studies archived at NACJD, and serial data collections.

_______________________

National Incident-Based Reporting System

The National Incident Based Reporting System (NIBRS) This link opens in a new window
The National Incident Based Reporting System (NIBRS) is an incident-based reporting system for crimes known to the police. For each crime incident coming to the attention of law enforcement, a variety of data are collected about the incident. These data include the nature & types of specific offenses in the incident, victim(s) and offender(s) characteristics, etc. Incident-based data provide a very large amount of information about crime. Therefore this Web site provides a Guide to its use.

United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime

United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime This link opens in a new window
Cross-national UNODC crime statistics for over 120 countries are available on this page covering the period 2003 to 2008. Statistics on police-recorded offences and identified victims are available by crime type. Statistics on the response of the criminal justice system are divided according to police, prosecution, court and prison statistics.

Statistical Abstracts of the United States

Statistical Abstracts of the United States This link opens in a new window
The Statistical Abstract of the U. S., published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web. Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations.

University at Albany Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics

Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics This link opens in a new window
Brings together data from more than 100 sources about many aspects of criminal justice in the U.S.

TRAC:FBI This link opens in a new window
The Transactional Records Access Clearinghouse (TRAC) is a data gathering, data research and data distribution organization at Syracuse University. TRAC:FBI is a source for comprehensive, independent and nonpartisan information about the FBI.

Sources of Government Data and Statistics

Criminal Justice Data Sources

Bureau of Justice Statistics Data Sets

BJS is the primary statistical agency of the Department of Justice. The mission of BJS is to collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.

Federal Bureau of Investigation Crime Data Explorer

According to their website: The FBI's Crime Data Explorer (CDE) aims to provide transparency, create easier access, and expand awareness of criminal, and noncriminal, law enforcement data sharing; improve accountability for law enforcement; and provide a foundation to help shape public policy with the result of a safer nation. Use the CDE to discover available data through visualizations, download data in .csv format, and other large data files.

Federal Bureau of Prisons: Research Links

Contains reports on subjects such as:

Drug Treatment Program Evaluations
Education and Training Program Evaluations
Equity and Diversity Issues
General Program Evaluations
Prison Management
Public vs. Private Prisons
Prison Conditions and Environment
Recidivism

National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine: Committee on Law and Justice

The Committee on Law and Justice’s (CLAJ) mission is to improve government decision making and public policy and promote the understanding and dissemination of research in matters involving law and justice.

Here you may view Committee reports on many legal and social justice-related topics, for example Reducing Racial Inequality in Crime and Justice (below).

United States Sentencing Commission: Commission Datafiles

This page provides users with access to the Commission's special datafiles that include Research Reports, Data Reports, and an Interactive Data Analyzer.

National Archive of Criminal Justice Data

NACJD Data Guides

The National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) is the place to discover, access, and analyze data on crime and justice.

(Click the icon above - website will open in a new web tab)

THIS RESEARCH OR "LIBGUIDE" WAS PRODUCED BY THE LIBRARIANS OF MONROE COLLEGE

Last Updated: Apr 10, 2024 4:20 PM
URL: https://monroecollege.libguides.com/criminaljustice
Print Page

Subjects: Criminal Justice

Tags: criminal justice, justice, law enforcement, prison and prison reform, rehabilitation