Databases (Electronic Resources): All Databases

A-Z Link (EBSCOhost): Looking for a particular journal title but not sure which database it’s in?  Use A-Z link for a comprehensive alphabetical listing of all journals/ newspapers/ magazines available in all the library databases (not just for EBSCO databases!).

ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest): Covers key disciplines such as accounting, economics, finance, information technology, management, marketing, operations, real estate, risk management, supply chain and includes major titles.

Academic OneFile (Gale): A source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources, with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.  Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995.  Provided by NOVEL-NY*

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO): A multidisciplinary database that provides full-text for more than 8,500 journals, including peer-reviewed titles.  Back files to 1975 or further are available for some journals.

Business Insights: Essentials (Gale): This comprehensive database brings together a wide variety of global business information including company profiles, as well as business magazines and newspapers. It contains full-text from over 3000 periodical titles.  Provided by NOVEL-NY*

Business Source Premier (EBSCO): Is superior to the competition in full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. This database provides full-text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. 

CINAHL Plus (EBSCO): Comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full-text for more than 760 journals indexed in CINAHL.

Credo Reference: An easy to use tool for research projects and homework. A giant online collection that searches hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations and subject specific titles as well as 200,000+ images and audio files and nearly 100 videos.

Criminal Justice Database (Proquest): U.S. and international criminal justice journal database. Provides research support for students pursuing careers in criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security.

Culinary Arts Collection (Gale): ​Provides access to academic journals and magazines on all aspects of cooking and nutrition. The database includes thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information. 

Discovery Service for Monroe College: This link simultaneously searches all databases, products and services available at Monroe.

e-Books on EBSCOHost (formerly NetLibrary): Provides access to e-Books (digital version of books and journals). You can access the library’s eContent 24 hours a days, seven days a week.

Education Database (ProQuest): Covers hundreds of educational topics including primary, secondary, higher education, special education, home schooling, adult education, and more.

Eric (EBSCO): U.S. Department of Education's Educational Resource Information Center database.  Contains more than 1,300,000 records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents from education journals dating back to 1966.

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL): An eBook database that includes Business Plans Handbook, Contemporary Black Biography and Twayne’s Author Series. 

General OneFile (Gale): Periodical articles on a wide range of topics including art, business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics.  Provided by NOVEL-NY*

General Reference Center Gold (Gale): Provides access to magazines, newspapers, trade publications, and reference books through one easy interface. This general interest database offers the latest content covering current events, popular culture, business and industry trends, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more.

GreenFile (EBSCO): Well researched information covering all aspects of the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Provided by NOVEL-NY*

Health Management Database (Proquest): For researchers studying the field of health administration, this database provides reliable  information on a wide range of topics, including hospitals, insurance, law, statistics, business management, personnel management, ethics, health economics, and public health administration. 

Health Reference Center Academic (Gale): Provides access to the full-text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources.  Provided by NOVEL-NY*

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO): Provides nearly 550 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.

Historical New York Times (Proquest): This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1851 - 2013.

Hospitality, Tourism and Leisure Collection (Gale): Provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications that cover topics including the cultural and economic aspects of travel and tourism. The database offers current and relevant content that provides well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism industries.

InfoTrac Newsstand (Gale): This full-text newspaper database has several New York Newspapers including the New York Times from 1995 on, and over 1,000 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers. Provided by NOVEL-NY*

Issues and Controversies (InfoBase): Explores more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture.

Jstor: Quality interdisciplinary content to support scholarship and teaching, Jstor contains more than a thousand academic journals and over a million images, letters, and other primary sources and is one of the world's most trusted sources for academic content.

​Literature Resource Center (Gale): A complete literature reference databases rich in biographical and critical content.  Includes entries for authors from all periods and from genres including fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism.  Contains Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Drama for Students, and Novels for Students.

MEDLINE with Full-Text (EBSCO): The U.S. National Library of Medicine’s database is a comprehensive medical information source of full-text information.  Includes information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, etc.

Mergent Online: Tracks company and industry information in more countries than any other database and delivers a comprehensive suite of authoritative financial information.

Military & Government Collection (EBSCO): Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content. 

National Newspapers Premier (ProQuest): Online access to current and back issues of  national and regional newspapers from across the U.S. Titles include The Wall Street Journal, Christian Science Monitor, Washington Post, Barrons, USA Today and more.

National Newspaper Index (Gale): Provides article citations from 1977 to present for the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times and the Washington Post.  Provided by NOVEL-NY*

Newspaper Source (EBSCO): Provides full-text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc.  Also contains selective full-text for more than 370 regional newspapers. In addition, full-text TV and radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, NPR, etc.

New York Times (ProQuest): This is considered the official U.S. newspaper because it publishes the complete text of important documents, speeches and presidential press conferences. The paper's reporters have won scores of Pulitzer Prizes throughout the publication's 150-year history.Coverage: 1980 - current

Nursing and Allied Health Collection (Gale): Provides access to academic journals and other reference content covering all aspects of the nursing profession, from direct patient care to health care administration. The database offers current and authoritative content for professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.

OmniFile Full-text Select (EBSCO): A multidisciplinary, 100% full-text database providing articles from more than 1,600 publications from the following Wilson databases: Art Full-text, Applied Science & Technology Full-text, Biological & Agricultural Index, Education Full-text, General Science Full-text, Humanities Full-text, Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, Library Literature & Information Science Full-text, Readers' Guide Full-text, Social Sciences Full-text, and Wilson Business Full-text.

Opposing Viewpoints In Context (Gale): Is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Professional Development Collection (EBSCO): Designed for professional educators, this database provides a specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. 

Psychology Collection (Gale): Provides access to academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind. The database offers content of interest to both researchers and general users.

Psychology Database (Proquest): Abstracts and indexing for more than 650 titles, over 540 of which are full-text. Covers a range of psychology disciplines including behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial, personality, physiological, psychobiology, psychometrics, and social psychology. Titles include The American Journal of Psychiatry, Psychotherapy and Psychosomatics, Development and Psychopathology, and The Psychological Record.

Regional Business News (EBSCO): Comprehensive full-text coverage for regional business publications. Incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.  Includes titles from Crain Communications. 

Research Library (Proquest): Multidisciplinary database covering subjects such as the arts, business, children, education, health, humanities, international law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social science, and women’s interest.  Includes more than 4,070 titles from 1971.  Features a mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.

Sage Journals Online: Electronic access to over 500 SAGE journal titles in business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine with a back file to 1999.

Social Science Database (Proquest): Provides information of addiction studies, urban studies, family studies, international relations, and more. 

Today’s Science (InfoBase): Bridges the gap between the science that students learn in the classroom and the discoveries pushing the boundaries of science today.

U.S. Newsstream (ProQuest): Enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s. For academic and public libraries, US Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and The Wall Street Journal. US Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform. Coverage: 1980 - current

World News Digest (InfoBase): Brings together and enhances nearly seven decades of news form the renowned Facts on File World News Digest in print.