Page Title
Skip to Main Content

Finding Articles in the Databases: Finding Newspaper Articles

Use the library's databases to find academic/scholarly/peer-reviewed/ newspaper/ magazine articles and so much more!

If You Need Newspaper or Website Articles

Do you need an article from a newspaper or website? 

 

Be careful to evaluate any websites for the quality of the information they offer.
Always run the CRAAP Test.

Newspaper articles:

  • are published for a general public audience (but are not "scholarly" research articles).
  • must pass editorial review (The editorial board of a news provider is not the same as a scholarly peer-review panel.)
  • are usually (but not always) subject to the journalistic code of ethics. 
  • at the national level, can be reasonably expected to have been fact-checked prior to publication

When you use the Internet, you should always try to find out who posted the information and how much they know about the topic.

Are they experts in their field? 

Are they giving facts or are they giving their own opinion? You might want to check their media bias score!

For more help, (and to learn about the CRAAP test) see the Website Evaluation & Citation LibGuide

Need both sides of the story? Try starting here:

Websites: (no login required) Databases: (use instructions below to gain access)

Pew Research Center

ProCon.org

Issues and Controversies (InfoBase)

Opposing Viewpoints In Context (GALE)

Using the Databases:
1.) Login to MyMonroe.  2.) Click on the Library Resources icon.Library Resources Icon MyMonroe 3.) Choose +Databases .

Finding Newspaper and Website Articles on the Internet

Go to the best source for the type of information that you want.

Some suggested websites:

Finding Newspaper Articles in the Databases

In order to use the sources listed below, you'll need to log in to the Library Databases.

Go to MyMonroe and select the Library Resources Gadget Library Resources Icon

(Login details here.)

You might want to try:

  • Historical New York Times (Proquest) 
    A searchable Index going back to 1851.
  • InfoTrac Newsstand (Gale)
    Full-text newspaper database with several New York Newspapers including the New York Times from 1995 on, and over 1,000 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers. 
  • National Newspaper Index (Gale)
    Provides article citations from 1977 to present for the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times and the Washington Post. 
  • National Newspapers Premier (ProQuest)
    Online access to current and back issues of the most respected national and regional newspapers from across the U.S.  Titles include The Wall Street Journal, Christian Science Monitor, Washington Post, Barrons, USA Today and many more.
  • Newspaper Source (EBSCO)
    Provides cover-to-cover full-text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, selective full-text for more than 370 regional newspapers, and full-text television and radio news transcripts. 
  • US Newsstream (ProQuest)
    Most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. Coverage: 1980 - current.

Using Databases to Avoid Newspaper Paywalls

IMPORTANT!

When the Internet gives you a paywall, you can usually get the whole article from the Databases! 

Simply Log In to My Monroe >
Library Resources >
Databases >
and choose 
National Newspapers Premier (ProQuest).

Next, do a Publication Search for the Newspaper of your choice:
Then Search the Publication for the Title of your article:

 

Search for the Newspaper, then enter the Title of the Article You Need

Searching Worksheets

This worksheet will help you think about what you should be searching, and put your thoughts into order.