Nursing and Allied Health Information Resources: Medical Databases & Journals

IMPORTANT: When logging in from off-campus, these Databases must be accessed using MyMonroe.

See Instructions above.

The following databases are health information focused.

For remote access (off campus), first log into MyMonroe and go to the library resources gadget.

• CINAHL Plus

Comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full-text for more than 760 journals indexed in CINAHL.

• Health Reference Center Academic

Provides access to the full-text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources.

• Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

Provides nearly 550 scholarly full-text journals focusing on medical disciplines. Also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.

• MEDLINE

The U.S. National Library of Medicine’s database contains full-text for over 1,450 journals and indexing for over 4,800 titles. It also includes information on 700 diseases and conditions, lists hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia & dictionary, and health information in Spanish.

• ProQuest Health Management Journals 

This database provides information on topics like hospitals, insurance, law, statistics, business & personnel management, ethics, health economics, and public health administration. It Includes over 795 journals with over 4,500 doctoral dissertations and theses. 

• Sage Journals Online 

Electronic access to over 500 SAGE journal titles in business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine with a back file to 1999.

To access more than 500 professional Nursing and Health Information journals, use A-to-Z Link Database.